Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content

United States Senate Committee on Agriculture Nutrition & Forestry

Grow it Here, Make it Here: Creating Jobs through Bio Based Manufacturing

Tuesday, June 17, 2014
10:00 AM
328A Russell Senate Office Building

Senator Debbie Stabenow, Chairwoman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry, will convene a Committee hearing on Tuesday, June 17 at 10:00 a.m. in room 328A of the Russell Senate Office BuildingThe hearing, “Grow it Here, Make it Here: Creating Jobs through Bio-Based Manufacturing”, will examine the role that bio-based products are playing in helping to revitalize and re-energize American manufacturing, and how that is helping to grow the economy and create jobs.

Immediately following the hearing, Chairwoman Stabenow will host a ‘Grow It Here, Make It Here’ Spotlight on Innovation event at 11:30 a.m. in the Kennedy Caucus Room, highlighting new technologies from more than 30 innovators from across the country leading the charge in biobased manufacturing. This event, also open to the public, will serve as an educational, hands-on complement to the hearing, featuring representatives from across the country who will provide insights and firsthand perspectives on how they are tapping into the potential of biobased manufacturing through innovation.

Open in New Window


The hearing will begin at 10:00 a.m. in room 328-A of the Russell Senate Office Building.

The corresponding Spotlight on Innovation event will begin at 11:30 a.m., immediately following the hearing, in the Kennedy Caucus Room (also in the Russell Senate Office Building). The event will remain open to the public until 1:30 p.m. A list of organizations participating in the event is below.

1.    The Coca-Cola Company (Atlanta, GA)

2.   Lear Corporation (Southfield, MI)

3.   Cargill, Inc. (Hopkins, MN)

4.   Novozymes North America (Franklinton, NC)

5.   Ford Motor Company (Dearborn, MI)

6.   DuPont (Wilmington, DE)

7.   The Sherwin-Williams Company (Cleveland, OH)

8.   American Forest and Paper Association (Washington, DC)

9.   Graphic Packaging International Inc. (Atlanta, GA)

10. NatureWorks, LLC (Minnetonka, MN)

11.  KTM Industries, Inc. (Lansing, MI)

12.  Ecovative Design, LLC (Green Island, NY)

13.  Virent, Inc. (Madison, WI)

14. The American Wood Council (Leesburg, VA)

15.  SYNLawn (New York City, NY)

16. Vermont Natural Coatings (Hardwick, VT)

17.  Fabri-Kal (Kalamazoo, MI)

18. Solazyme, Inc. (South San Francisco, CA)

19. Elevance Renewable Sciences, Inc. (Woodridge, IL)

20. Blue Marble Biomaterials, LLC (Missoula, MT)

21.  Armstrong World Industries, Inc. (Lancaster, PA)

22. Ultra Green (Plymouth, MN)

23. Earth-Kind, Inc. (Bismarck, ND

24. BioBased Technologies (Springdale, AR)

25. The Clean Environment Company (Omaha, NE)

26. Itaconix Corporation (Straham, NH)

27. Laurel Biocomposite, LLC (Laurel, NE)

28. Baxley Equipment Company (Baxley, GA)

29. Myriant Corporation (Quincy, MA)

30. Organic Products, LLC (Thibodaux, LA)

31.  Yulex Corporation (Phoenix, AZ)

32. Sirrus Chemistry (Loveland, OH)

33. SoyClean/CC Lubricants (Brookly, IA)

34. Indiana Soybean Alliance (West Lafayette, IN)

35. Archer Daniels Midland Company (Decatur, IL)


  1. Mr. Scott Vitters
    General Manager, PlantBottle Innovation Platform
    The Coca-Cola Company
    Atlanta , GA
  2. Mr. Ashford A. Galbreath
    Director, Advanced Materials and Comfort Engineering, Research and Development
    Lear Corporation
    Southfield , MI
  3. Mr. Kurtis Miller
    President, Business Unit, Cargill Industrial Specialties
    Cargill, Inc.
    Hopkins , MN
  4. Mr. Adam Monroe
    President, Americas
    Novozymes North America Inc.
    Franklinton , NC
  5. Mr. J.D. Hankins, II
    Vice President
    Hankins, Inc.
    Ripley , MS